My new (ad)venture

Bienvenidos! I would like to personally welcome you to my blog. I am starting this blog because it is time to finally start creating intention within the world as to what my passion is and begin to pursue that passion.

Short and sweet; I have a passion for travel, culture, identities and the differences within the world that makes it such a beautiful and curious place to live. Specifically, I have fallen in love with the cultures of central and south america. I have had the opportunity to travel a little and in each one of my travels a certain feeling has continually resonated with me. Culture is being lost. This mainly felt due to globalization, capitalization, greed, tourism….many, many things. My goal with this blog is not to bash these principals but to create awareness and education within the regions of central and south america as to how we can be responsible and create change. Before too much is lost.

From this blog, I hope that I can inspire you, educate you , create awareness, give you something that you may have been searching for, create connection, entertain and awe you… and I am not entirely sure what else yet! I hope to create the bridge between our society’s fortuante lifestyle with those that are in need of our help and begin to ‘Be The Change’. That being said…

What are your personal travel experiences ? How did it change and create your reality and who you are now?

6 thoughts on “My new (ad)venture”

  1. Two summers ago, I traveled by car, and camped my way from Denver to Yellowstone National Park, where I camped for several nights. I went hiking by myself with my bible, journal and the flag we received when my grandfather died, in honor for his service in WWII as a mechanic on the planes that spied on and photographed Japan for the dropping of ‘the bomb’. I took a look at my life as I never had before. It began the change of my life from a failed attempt at college and unsatisfied with my life after ten years in the health insurance industry. Since then I have gone back to school, earned my Associates and am studying for an Bachelors in Environmental Remediation and Public Policy through the Independent Degree Program at Metropolitan State University. My desire is to be part of producing a fleet of ships that will clean our oceans of 40 years of plastic pollution. I look forward to seeing where your adventure leads also.

    1. @cuttheplastic. Thank you very much for sharing your story. It is always intriguing to me to hear these moments in people’s lives when they were able to connect with something beautiful and it helped transformed their experience and created positive change. What an amazing journey for you, I would love to encounter such solidarity like this in my life some time. I would love to see pics if you have any!

  2. In 2005 I was blessed with a two week trip to the Jungfrau Valley in Wengen, Switzerland. We stayed in a one-room commuity style chalet that used the oven as a heater. We slept on two twin beds pushed together with a single down comforter made by the owner. There was no cell phone service, no vehicles other than a taxi, a fire truck, and a police car. If you walked “Heart Attack Hill”, the 3/4 mile uphill path to the village, you could stop at the pub and buy 15 minutes of Internet service by taking a shot of liquor. Every store closed by Noon on Sunday and every local spoke a mix of English, French, and German.

    The simplicity of the culture was extremely spiritual and impactful. There was no need to be “health conscious” because the every day demands of the minimalistic lifestyle made sure everyone was healthy. Food was fresh, livestock was everywhere (including grazing on grass roofs of dwellings), and whether there was a language barrier or not, every member of the community embraced every tourist and stranger as family.

    The beauty of the Swiss Alps perfectly complimented the beauty of the people spending their lives there. It left me with a yearning for a simpler life. At the time, I would gladly have packed up my dog and moved into a farmer’s shed for years until I could have a place of my own there. In my heart I know that I have never left that place, or that community and when things are overwhelming or the pressures of society bog me down I remember my time there, how alive it made me feel, and try to change one thing, no matter how small, to get me back on the path to that lifestyle.

    1. @m.lindeblad. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is definitely times like this that shape our experience and create more of who we are… I challenge to continue to seek out that simpler life 😉

Leave a Reply

